The institution was initiated by our founder and patron Thiru. E. M. Gopalakrishnan Kone in the year 1974 at E.M.G. Kalyana Mandapam, Tallakulam to coach for Pre-University courses.         The Department of Chemistry made its beginning in the year 2011 in order to motivate rural female students to pursue higher education in the field of science. Dr.P.Bhuvaneswari was the first Coordinator of this department (2011–2021) followed by Dr.S.Manimekalai (2021–till date). 
                     The Department offers the three-year B.Sc. chemistry course under the semester pattern (CBCS - Choice Based Credit System with 25% internal assessment component), with an annual intake of 40 students in the Main course, besides Chemistry as an allied subject for the B.Sc. Physics, and Nutrition and dietetics courses of the college. At present, 101 students are pursuing courses in the department.
                     We strive hard to use more effective, interactive learning techniques to engage the students in Chemistry. The department has well qualified, dedicated and experienced faculty members whose untiring efforts have lifted the department to lay milestones. More than 8 Research papers were published in national and international peer-reviewed journals by our members of faculty in the last five years.
                    The infra-structure facilities now available in the Department are sufficient for B.Sc. course. It has a full-fledged laboratory with sophisticated equipment such as the Spectrophotometer, Water analyser, electronic balance, heating mantle, magnetic stirrer and shaker machine etc., along with rarer chemicals to cater to the needs of students at the UnderGraduate level. There are 243 collections of books in the department for quick reference to cater to the needs of the students and the staff.
                     Our department conducts various activities such as projects, science exhibitions, conferences, seminars, and CHEAMESA –Association meetings for developing students’ acquaintances.